Thursday, June 30

Day 4

Another beautiful sunny day.
Of course there was some boring cleaning that had to be done, but then off for a bike ride and to the mall with my friend K. Good times.
There was no new dinner made today... but yummy leftover casserol

My shmoops and I headed to Little Qualicum river to do some fly fishing. Well, he did the fishing, I started a new book (My Sisters Keeper). Finally I can read a book that is not forced, by that I mean all the textbooks that I read throughout the school year and no time for fantasy or girly novels.

I want to post photos, but my cell is not uploading them... So the blog will just have to wait for now.
Oooo and I sold a tent! That means I can buy 2 cans of paint!!! Pink and Purple, here I come!

G'night world.

Day 3

Another spectacular day.
I woke up this morning filled with energy at 6am! School has forced early mornings on me. So glad I enjoy every moment of them. Yes, I am one of those strange people that wake up cheerful in the mornings with a great big smile on my face.
Anywhooo....
I started cleaning the shed and taking pictures of all the things I am to sell over the next few weeks. Maybe I will make enough money to pay for the paint for our little cookies room. Oh yes that would make me oh so happy!
So the pictures are posted, and the shed is clean. I started getting bored again... time to get out of the house and go for a walk. My sister and I rounded up the pups and headed out for a walk to Petsmart (about a 45min walk each way). It wouldn't have been so bad if I didn't run yesterday... Yup my legs are in terrible pain! Oh well, I am sooooo running tomorrow anyways!
My shmoops worked from home today which was really nice when I wanted a snuggle at lunch time. After work he showed me how to fly fish in the back yard for a little bit. Learned 3 new techniques I will be trying out early next week. Then we headed off to a new place neither of us have been (The Nanaimo Lake) however after driving for 30min to get to the place there was a huge gate closing it in.... It was only 5:30pm... Oh well, heading to the lake there was these areas you could pull up to and hike inwards towards the river. We found one area that has a drop off to the lake. My goodness that was beautiful. But of course I was not expecting to see this there was no camera available... We are sooo going back there when we have some more time!
We realised there are a million lakes we can kayak in our little home area that we haven't been to, so off we went to find another one. This was the Quennell Lake, it is nearly impossible to find an area to launch a kayak that did not have someone's property attached to it. No problem. We travelled along the Nanaimo river back home stopping along the sides to see how it would be for fishing.
We came home after our 4 hour adventure and made chicken florentine with asparagus. OMG sooo good! Then off to bed after a crazy long day...

Tuesday, June 28

Day 2

Another productive day.
The pup my man and I biked half way to my love's work this morning. I love this new tradition... and summer time.
I organized everything all day seriously, all day! Also listed a million things for sale online. Already received a couple emails, one person is picking up an item for $8. Phew I will be loaded. lol The best part was putting a whole bunch of stuff in the garbage bin and making extra room for all our random things.
I went to get my hair cut with my friend C, she got this adorable bob cut and I got a trim, as I am growing my hair out for my wedding.
My man came home to pretty amazing leftovers chatted for an hour then headed off to go fly fishing.
I am sitting on our super comfy couch watching girly movies. This is exactly what I hoped for this evening.

Monday, June 27

My first day as a house-wife

This is going to be one of my fav blog posts.
I finished school this past Friday, the morning ended with a final exam followed by an afternoon shin dig with the DH class.
Then it was time to catch the bus to the apt and finished packing. This is the last time I will be in that very nicely decorated bedroom. THANK GOODNESS!!!! (for reasons in prev. posts) My man and I packed up all my stuff from Vanc and moved it back home for my 2 months of summer... At least until I find a new place to live in Vanc for the next 10 months...

Can you believe it? Only 10 more months left of school!!!! I for one, CANNOT. AMAZING! This has been such a long haul, but what an incredible experience.

Anyways...

As promised to myself I am blogging every day (that I can remember) to remind myself of what my first summer was like as a house-wife. What? J a house-wife? Yeah right!!!
That's right people. I will be cooking, cleaning, building shelves, painting the shed, painting the living room, (by the way I want paint for my birthday), decorating our cookie's room and SOOO MUCH MORE!
There will be no discussion of me working. This will be the best deserved break EVER.

Oh yes, I must thank my man for his support. He wants me to do nothing all summer, no lists of things to do for the day and thinks I should have spending money JUST for myself nothing else. Not going to lie, that first part will not happen. I love writing lists of things to do for the day! I feel satisfied and productive. My list consists of 8 things to do today. (I'm not telling what they are, no way hozze. Side note: I am with the most amazing man ever (believe me, not for only these above reasons alone, I wish there were enough words/time in the world to explain the gratitude and love I have for this man).

Alright. So here goes...

Saturday:

My crazy man got up at 4am to go fishing with his friend out on Westwood lake. They each caught 8 fish, unbelievable! Its nice to know that if we were ever starving my man can provide. They only came home at 10:30am, at first I was a little bummed because it was my first day of summer out of school. However, the moment I saw his face and how upset he was that he wasn't here to wake me up with the smell of coffee I didn't mind so much anymore cuz my man made breaky. Pancakes, baccon, and eggs. Scrump! The rest of the day is a blur now that today is Monday...

Sunday: My man and I started the day at 3:45 am, that's right, in the morning (who is crazy now...). We threw on some warm clothes packed up the kayaks and headed to spider lake to do some bass fishing. My second cast I caught a fish!!! My heart was pumping and after we let the fish go my whole body was shaking from excitement. I thought a fish would pull me into the lake. Turns out fish do not get that big (1-8 pounds) and it is not enough to rock me out of my kayak into the lake. Thank goodness! My man caught a couple too right after my first, but nothing new for him. He ALWAYS catches a fish :P After 3 peaceful hours we headed home for some breakfast and a nap. Our friends called us up and asked if we wanted to go sailing. Sailing? Yes please! So off we went. The 3 puddle ducks and 2 kayaks travelling around Newcastle Island (first time taking the boat out on the open ocean). We brought our mini BBQ and everyone brought some food and had a mini picnic right on the mini island there.
We live in the most beautiful place in the world!
Bed time seemed to come around quite quickly, 9pm I think it was from the adventurous day!

Today:




If I could give it one word? Amazing. Yup. Its true!
I made us breaky while shmoops got ready for work. The man biked to work today (been doing this lots to get into better shape) so the pup and I came with him about 1/4 the way. Wish I could find a backpack/carrying case for long bike trips for Falito to come on. Oh well... Its out there somewhere. Next exciting bit was: I used a crockpot for the first time today. It is probably the best invention ever. My man promised it was the best roast he has ever eaten (cooked for 6 hours), and au jus to dip (think that's how its spelled) oh and homemade bread. I cleaned up soooo much of the house and organized our little cookie's bedroom. My man left work early to take me and the pup for a hike to an area we have never been before Mt. Benson. We walked around the base of it for an hr and a half, and kinda got lost (missed a sign). So we will absolutely be trying that again later this week/next weekend.
Now I am sitting on the couch full of beef dip/sandwich typing my life away. I loved today and cannot wait to wake up tomorrow and see what the world has in store for me.

This blogging every day is so nice, It helps me reflect on the goods and bads of the day.

Wednesday, June 22

Cannot believe it!!!

Its only 2 more sleeps until I am free for 2 whole months!!!

Every night we are planning something different/active to do. And at least once a week we will do something/go somewhere neither of us have done/gone.

I also decided I am going to learn how to use my new camera. Its a beautiful one. I wonder if I can get people to pose for me :P Lots of studying to come... but at least its not forced studying...

Also, I am going to try to blog every day to remind myself of how wonderful of a summer I had NOT working/going to school for the first time in my life! And remind myself how amazing my man is with all the support he is wrapping me in through the last 4 years of school.

Only 2 more sleeps until I get to be with my shmoops! Love you baby!

Monday, June 20

Sleeps

The sleep countdown continues! 4 sleeps left. I'm soo ready to be home with my love!

Sunday, June 19

Fathers day

Happy Fathers day to all the future dads, current dads and especially my amazing man who is one of the best dads!

Saturday, June 18

Study days

woo, just had a great study session with one of my girly friends :) We went to the public library (absolutely beautiful place) that is just one block from our school and booked an enclosed room where we could ask each other questions and discuss randoms. You know, girl chat... common' every study session needs some procrastination! Now I'm watching girly shows (as usual) and then on to read some cue cards... not so exciting...

Can you believe it? Only 6 more sleeps! Goodness, I miss my shmoops, shnooky, and lil pup pup.

Only 1 more weekend day, 5 more school days, 1 more exam, 1 clinical task, and 1 presentation. Here we go!

Thursday, June 16

Game 7

Oh soo silly!
Game 7 was such a gong show. I'm not upset we didn't win. I am still soo proud of our boys in blue! They came so far, even though they choked the last few games.



Just before the end of the game a fight started to break out, my shmoops grabbed me and I grabbed my lil sis. We pushed through the huge crowd, with big guys pushing us back saying "just wait, its going to happen, stay, wait until the end." (They were talking about a mosh pit and then a riot)
We started getting worried... Somehow we pushed through the crowd and only a couple min later the first truck was turned over and lit on fire. We walked a few blocks away from the center of the insanity, and waited for our bus. As we were waiting, when I looked one way people were fighting at the crossroad, so i turned the head looking straight across the road and there were many people wearing jerseys screaming and running across the street (one of them had a shovel) Then I decided what else could happen, to my surprise/disbelief I turned my head to the other side of the road and there was smoke in the air behind my school building and police patty wagons lined up. I didn't think the bus could come soon enough... I looked at the young girl beside me and asked if she has seen the 17 (my bus) and she said "uhh, I have been sitting here for an hour... I don't think the bus is going to come... There was a young girl decked out in full canucks attire with a painted face and everything just balling her eyes out. She said she walked out of the washroom and was punched in the stomach. That second we realized... we need to catch a cab. NOW. Out of fear I hailed my first cab EVER! He must have seen fear in my eyes. We asked the girl that was waiting for the same bus as us if she wanted to split our cab. Another girl ran up to the cab just before we peeled out asking if we were going to the same place. YES we were. Huzzah for sharing cabs! Ok cab driver, get us the heck outta here!!! As we were driving away there was smoke coming from 2 different areas... It felt like we were in a movie leaving the scene of disaster. So unreal. In complete shock.

The cabbie driver dropped us off at Smittys a few blocks from my apartment where we ate and watched the news on their TVs. We decided out of fear to call another cab to drive us to the apartment. There were ambulances driving past us back and fourth... kinda scary.
We got back to the apartment, still in disgust, watched the news until about 12ish until the news channel changed to something boring and we attempted to sleep. My futon bed is not meant for two people. What a horrific sleep...

The rest of today is kinda just a blur... I know I went to school... didn't I? yes.

Now I am at home after a much needed nap, procrastinating...

Only 8 more sleeps... Thank goodness.
We are having a year end lunch/drinks party just after our last exam. I LOVE these! Then my shmoops is going to pick me up and all my stuff in the car and we will head HOME together for 2 months! Huzzah!

Tuesday, June 14

Moving again

Oh yes, I know its only June, but I am getting quite excited to move into a place with my friends for next school year!

However, this will be a pretty good last 2 weeks. My aunt is working Mon-Fri 12-8... that means I have the whole apartment to myself which means I can have the windows open and cook as I please. Oh yes, Nice indeed!

One of my friends is a runner, so I will be going out with her 3 days/week, and both of them eat super healthy! This is going to be the best experience ever!

I love all these new experiences that I have walked through this year. I feel more "grown up" and that I have learned an unbelievable amount since last year. Thats right people. I am much wiser today than I was last year.
Good thing I suppose... its not so good going backwards...

Game 7 is tomorrow. My shmoops, little sis and her bf are coming here to watch it on the big screen with me. 

Anyways, only 10 more sleeps until I get to be full time with the love of my life for a whole 2 months :)

Monday, June 13

Believe

Believe, just believe.

I couldn't imagine the stress these boys are under. So stop being dumb and just believe! They still have another game!

Good luck boys in blue!

Sunday, June 12

Geocashing



We each found one geocash on our hike around Westwood lake.
This is probably one of the best ways to find new places around your area and search for treasures. I almost feel like a modern pirate!



And during our daily nap our pup quietly jumped on our bed without either of us noticing, he snuggled right between us.
Our cute little pup!

End of first year

Is it true? The end of first year is near? That means we are halfway done? Excluding the last 3 years of school... Oh my goodness only 12 more sleeps! Woop!

Saturday, June 11

Sunshine

It was another beautiful summer day.
We stayed inside most of the morning, I was researching and he was programming.
Around 2 we decided to go for a bike ride. Phew was it ever a bike ride!
We first took the pup to pet smart biking with him running beside us, then we dropped him off at home and biked all the way to pipers lagoon. It was amazing! Wish we took some pictures.
Now all three boys are in the backyard making bbq chicken, steak. Goodness this is going to be great!

Just had dinner, and I was right perfect!
Almost bed time, didn't get a very good sleep last night. Tomorrow morning the boys are going fishing at 5am.. crazy? YES!
I will have breakfast on the table for them at 9am :)

Friday, June 10

Game 5

My Love and I out watching game 5

Game day

Oh yes its game 5.
We have decided to get into the crowd, go to a pub and watch the game. A bunch of our friends are going to be joining us as well, which always makes it more fun!

I have been studying/writing cue cards all morning, and decided it was time to take a break. Lunch time. Grilled cheese? Oh yeah! Love the grilled cheese. Its like cheesy goodness in my mouth. Yum. Oh right, its not lunch time without some mythbusters. Educational goodness all over the place. Lesson of the day? Flat tires consumes more fuel. Over inflated tires saves money... But only $76 if you drive 10,000 miles in a year... with the chance of blowing a tire. dumbness to do this. so do not.

Alright back to the cue cards... liners, cements, bases and so much more.
Can you feel the excitement?

Only 14 more sleeps.

Thursday, June 9

Happiness... and sushi!



I arrived at the ferry terminal so ready to be home. My man was waiting for me inside. I wrapped ky ARM around him like I haven't seen him in a month. We talk to the car hand in hand and when he opens my car door there is my fav sushi inside.

Yup, that's right folks. Forget the other 28,494,956 reasons why I love him. This one is for sure in the top 100. Oh and that he loves learning new things. I'm laying in bed right now and he is at the computer studying, for FUN! *so proud*

Wednesday, June 8

Fav shows on study days

I am spending most of the day writing up cue cards and researching information for one of my projects. As I attempt to do this I like to have noise in the background. My fav channel is slice. You know the one with all the wedding shows like: wedding sos, rich bride poor bride, then the groom show where he plans the wedding, oo and 4 brides. I love them all!

I am soooo excited Gav and I wont really have to go through this with a destination wedding. We will have to have a wicked reception, but it will be at the beach and VERY casual, with a picnic bbq, volleyball, badminton, and boccie ball. Oh yes. I have had it planned for years. I love my man and that we have similar ideas... or if we dont we always come to an agreed upon decision with compromise and discussion. LOVE YOU BABY

School sleeps

I am going fly fishing for the first time Saturday after our garage sailing! My momma has been doing it for a while, and Gav started last year when my momma unloaded lots of fly fishing stuff on him.This is going to be oh soo much fun! Just the 3 of us bonding! Yup I love where I live!


Only 16 more sleeps until summer!

Tuesday, June 7

Opinions/Words

Its amazing how someone can bring out all emotions in another.

I walked into the apartment today wanting to cry but couldn't. I must be PMSing or something cuz this threw me off the back side. I don't get it... why would I let one persons opinion make such an impact on me? Blast.

I called my man a few minutes after walking into the apartment, and tears started to flow the moment he said "oh, hello my love". All I wanted was his warm arms wrapped around me and my face snuggle into his neck and the feeling of his heart beat against my body (yes thats my comfort zone). Oh I miss him.

I swear, school projects change people. It makes them go crazy! I cannot get the comment out of my head... I think maybe I am going to talk to her tomorrow... or maybe because I am amiable I will chicken out and just ignore it... BLAST indeed.

Changing my thoughts somewhere else... This summer is going to be amazing. Only 17 more sleeps until I am home again full time for 2 months!
My plans include: laying on the beach that is only 10 min walk from my home, a daily bike ride, morning breakfasts with my love, and dinners on the table before he gets home. I want to test out this housewife stuff, but only temporary. I do LOVE working!

Sunday, June 5

Moving? OH YES!

I JUST walked into the apartment and was welcomed with "I have to let you know something" Her words seemed to drag on as she was saying it, like it was in slow motion or something..
It followed with "I have to increase the rent."
My mind blurted out, "what?! are you sure, do you have short term memory loss, we just discussed this a little while ago..." Slow motion again she reminded me about our conversation (only last week I think it was) about how she is finding it difficult with me here financially. My mind just shut off. Oh crap.
Wait... I am supposed to be listening, aren't I? Oh yes, back to the present... She was still discussing how I am a financial burden, however she wants me to stay...

I just do not get it? Is there something I am one-siding/missing?
I wish sometimes I could record everything in my life, and rewind it so someone else could listen and analyze my thoughts/conversations. Just to make sure I am not absolutely CRAZY.... hum...
Anyways, I am hoping my school friend will take me in and we can live happily ever after in an amazing 2 bedroom apartment/suite where I can open the window as I see fit and share HALF the fridge. Yes that is what I am asking.

Caramel grenades



Best. Invention. Ever.

We were making snakes on a stick, when the chocolate and marshmellows came out.

Then the best invention was discovered.

Caramel grenades!

They are a piece of caramel inside a marshmellow, which is wrapped in homemade dough.

Should I say it again? Best. Invention. Ever!

Thursday, June 2

Camping weekend

It is going to be a gorgeous weekend! I am so extremely excited! If you have kids and want to make camping fun with food here it is.

This is our premade very standard food list:

Breakfast
Eggs
Baccon
Pancakes (mix together all the dry ingredients then just add milk and egg when you are ready)
hashbrowns (pre-cut them and throw them in a big bag with seasoning)
Milk (just in case there is cereal in a mini box)
Lunch/Dinner
grilled cheese
hamburger buns (you can pre-make your dough with a bread machine, (our little cookie likes mini hamburgers, then pop the different sizes in the oven)
hamburgers (its soooo easy to pre-make hamburger patties!!!)
hot dogs (make your own buns or our little cookie likes it when we make dough at home then take a child sized fist full of dough and wrap it around the hot dog, freeze the whole thing, pop it on a weiner stick and cook)
Chili (with chips)
Snacks (my fav part of camping)
baby carrots
sugar snap peas
apples
oranges
bananas
fruit cocktail
Sweets
Smores (graham crackers, caramel chocolate, marshmellow)
Ants on a banana (banana cut open, inside mini marshmellows, chocolate chips wrapped in tin foil and place in coals let sit for about 10 min)
Do not forget things like seasonings, ketchup, mustard ect

This is going to be sooo much fun! There is a beautiful beach only 6 min walk from our campsite, a HUGE kids play area, and a boat launch for our boat, and kayaks! If that is not enough entertainment there is a long hike area and a bike rout! Oh yes, we will probably be going back there a few times this summer :)

Tomorrow is work on never ending research projects, then off to vacation at 3pm!

On a side note, MY family consists of many people! I believe real friends are just as much family as my real true family :) Thank you to my lovely FAMILY! I love you all! Little and Big!