Tuesday, May 31

Moving?


My aunt told me just after I walked in the door starting September she is going to charge me an extra $100. Why? She said in her own words "I am a financial burden." I don't get it...
I don't use heat, I unplug anything/everything I find when not in use (even though she insists I leave EVERYTHING plugged in), I cook my own food, I clean up after myself. But she has her mind set, so that is that.
She said she totally understands if I want to move out with my friends... I cannot tell, does she want me to move out? After her speech (which I must say was very kind) She said "I hope you DO stay."
I just found the best thing in the whole world!!!! padmapper.com
I'm a little confused and very sleepy. 
On the plus side I passed the only assessment clinically that I had this semester :) Huzzah! And I had a great chat and girly time with my friend S over dinner today. Oh how I miss girly time!
No school tomorrow, but LOTS of reading to do... Oh Pharmacology how you bore me...

Random thought (not that the rest of my blog is not...) We have sooooo much stuff to sell online. I am going to post everything in 2 weeks time Friday... Unless I do it Saturday. Lots of things, N's car seat, baby toys that are coming out of the ying yang, high chair, brand new tents used once each, and other randoms... I wish I could drop all the stuff somewhere and someone would give me half the price that I bought the stuff for. Its all almost brand new/barely used stuff...
Is there a place like that?

Monday, May 30

Piggy Bank

I should start off with Fridays blog post... Honestly I had full intentions of studying or something along those lines... but nothing happened. Don't worry my friend S, you were not the only one that did nothing...
Last weekend was sooo much fun!
 
Saturday our little cookie, my man, my sis her husband J and I all went garage sailing for 4 hours! N kept saying "common' lets go to the next one, maybe we can find another treasure." I LOVE that she LOVES it! She even paid for all her purchases. She went up to each owner haggling what she could get for her loonies and quarters. She knows the difference now and that she needs to save and earn money to spend it. Wow. A almost 6 years old! She catches on fast!

We started a piggy bank collection for her on her second birthday, now she is the one finding them at garage sales and is extremely excited to fill them up :) We will make a little saver out of her yet. Maybe a piggy bank education fund or something lol. A penny a day? Maybe we should transfer them into IOU to the bank and start interest... Humm...

We headed over to my mommas for the evening where we were spoiled with dinner and presents from Mexico. I am going to start bringing either my camera/phone out for daily things... need to start taking pictures again...

Sunday... what happened Sunday again? Oh yes. We brought out N's jeep and headed to the field to rip around with the pup leash free. She is going to be a great driver, cannot wait to start lessons lol jk. Please don't grow up too fast... We had a little family picnic at the field then it was time for the drive back to the dumb city that has constant grid lock and silly drivers...

I stayed Sunday night as I didn't have a class Monday morning. Oh it was super nice spending an extra night with my love! We woke up at 4:50am and left at 5:40 for me to catch the ferry back to the mainland. Not going to lie.. I am a little tired.

And that brings me to today. I went though the steps of going to school (not sure I was though...) and now at the apartment, in my pj's studying and writing a little blurb about my life.

I must say. I LOVE writing this! Even if no one reads it, it feels like such an escape to put my life down... Oh how I love journaling :)

Friday, May 27

Friday Plans

I had another school day off! Huzzah!
I came back yesterday evening after class and some last minute packing. Today my man and I woke up early, I made him breakfast while he was in the shower and we ate together (one of my most favorite things to do) and off to work he went. I had full intentions of studying and researching school stuff, but of course I decided not to and to clean our home instead.

I started with Naima's room. Then vacuumed the whole house, then decided it was time to wash the carpet. So, I brought out my trusty Bissel and did every square inch of the upstairs and then the stairs... 3 hours later the carpets were clean! The carpets smelt so fresh and clean I though it would be a great idea to do everything else...
So off came all the sheets and blankets into the washer they went. Next was the windows. Dusting is done now.
Humm what else can I do to procrastinate from studying/hw? In an hour and 15 we are off to Victoria :) Maybe I should sit down and focus at least for an hour...

Wednesday, May 25

Can you feel the love?

This is my little post to say how much I love my man!
He is the apple of my eye, and my best friend. I feel so lucky and blessed to be with him and to have his never ending constant support! Everyday that passes we somehow learn something new about each other, even after almost 5 years of adventurous love.

Baby, I love you with my everything!

Going green

Part of my lazy day and procrastinating with homework/studying I decided our home is going cheep and "green."
My friend posted a link to free bathroom cleaner that you can make then use in your own home with no hazardous chemicals! Thats the best part, I don't have to worry about me or my family breathing in awful toxic chemicals.

Bathroom Cleaner

Streak free glass cleaner

Many different eco friendly cleaners :)

Another great site

Make your own baby food  :not sure why I added this, but I will absolutly be doing it! Why add preservatives when you can be free?

Homemade dog food: Dogs should be eating just as healthy as us right? Our little pup is part of our family, isn't he? Then why are we feeding him all these preservatives?... I wonder if we can keep it up? Maybe make enough food for 1 month at the beginning of the month :) I sure am going to try!

I am also going to start buying fruit in bulk (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, ect) when they are in season to save on money. This is my latest project to start. I want to be eating healthy and real food!



Ohh we decided to start a garden this weekend with our little cookie! She is going to pick the veggies and plant her very own section! This is going to be such a fun experience!
How to start a garden
more garden tips

Dwindling time

Time is dwindling.
There are only 30 more sleeps until summer starts. Motivation is lost, or at least hiding somewhere. Where? Not sure just yet. But I am searching up and down for it. Today I have the day off (thankgoodness for being a CDA). I got a whole 8 and a half hours of sleep (not common while I'm at school) last night. And today I am taking it easy. I do an hour of school work, then watch some junk TV, bedroom exercise (no not dirty exercise, just situps and biggest loser tummy exercises) then another hour of school work, and again watch TV. Yup today is glorious!

Only 2 more sleeps until home day. We have planned a picnic, boating adventure, bike ride, and we are on the search for free/inexpensive campsites around the island as well as some hiking areas. Oh yes another busy weekend. This will be great and grand even :P

I have re-started a strict workout. I looked up never ending information about how to make those vertical lines of your tummy and am doing 4 exercises everyday. I have made this goal every year for the last 4 years but I am going to have it this year for sure by the end of the summer. Especially considering I am not working this summer so there will be a lot of time on my hands to do extra things that I have always wanted to do. Like learn to be an amazing cook for my man every day (well maybe ALMOST everyday haha)

Monday, May 23

May Long Weekend

Oh my goodness another epic may-long camping trip
There was a whole lotta food, boating, and chilling around the campfire. Everything May long should consist of, except our little cookie...
Falito behaved himself better than I thought he would. It was his second camping trip. Our little pup is growing up soo big! I feel as if he could be our child lol... The nights were a little cold so we let the pup sleep in our bed under his blanket (shoulda taken a picture of the cuteness). It rained a little too, but thats expected for BC weather especially in May. Stop complaining people summer will come :P Enjoy this, its why this place is so beautiful!

Friday everyone just hung out around the fire and had an early night.
Saturday, we all took the boats/kayaks/tubes out onto the lake where we did some fishing, sailing and an all around good time. I went out on my mans boat for the first time on a real sailing adventure. We headed back to the campsite for lunch and the boys sauntered off to catch some fish. They came back with 3! not going to lie, I was VERY impressed... and a little surprised! :)

Sunday was just as good. Some of the guys went out boating, then fishing again. No catch this time. But I'm sure had just as much fun. A few of us stayed around the fire chatting all day (which was glorious btw). Monday morning we all packed up early and headed out with no big traditional breakfast... It was sad not having everyone throw in what food they had left but I was glad to come home. Plus 3 of the people live with us so we had a HUGE breakfast at our place (scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes, hash browns). Oh yes it was great! (Don't judge my outrageous orange counter tops)

After an amazing breakfast with great friends my sis and I headed out to do some much needed shopping. :) I picked up the cutest dress, and a couple tops that were on sale! Sales make it soooo much easier to purchase clothing :P

Anyways, back on the mainland again and ready for a 4 day week of school. I came back to some seriously uneasy news... there is a mouse that comes into our apartment... I am not sure how I am going to sleep at night for the nest week... I have ran into 2 mice in the last year and did not handle it very well either times... We have not found mouse poop anywhere so thats good I guess... But I have ALL of my food in containers so no gross rodent can get in...
Back to school- I have decided for the next 31 sleeps containing school I will be 100% productive minus my blog posts, because they keep me sane. Well, maybe 90% productive. It is getting close to summer after all. Also weekends do NOT count :P

Thursday, May 19

Wedding

I just had the best idea ever!

For wedding photos and a video right after we get married I am going to run into a grocery store looking for cranberry sauce (or something else completely random) in full wedding attire, then Gav is going to run in after me worried and saying 'we are going to be late.' After searching for the cranberry sauce our bridesmaids and groomsmen are going to run through the store searching for us yelling 'we are going to be late.'

Bus rout



My bus rout is awesome. On the way there are cute grocery stores, my bank, coffers shops, and the best part is a statue of a big rocket ship. Yup. My bus rout is pretty awesome.

Wednesday, May 18

Procrastination and Grumpies



Oh yes this procrastination thing is a daily thing for me... some weeks...
At this very moment I have full intentions to review, add, and edit a groups project, but it seems like a much better idea to hop on the computer and write a completely uninteresting blog post :)
Today has not been amazing, not awful but not amazing...
I woke up at 1:30am with aunt flow (tmi)? Who cares?! lol I was very late (no I am not preggers, I was tested), which made me happy to have them until the pain started... Oh the pain.
How is this legal? Why did God design this to happen to some of us?
I had clinic this morning (meaning I was with a patient for 2 hours and 15 min) and no way to escape.

On a side note, I learned something yesterday. I was at the doctors yesterday and she told me that it is completely normal for a female to miss a period or two in a row, generally up to 3 months. She said it is so normal that its common (80% of women have missed periods up to 3 months with no correlation to pregnancy). Interesting, why do people not broadcast this so when it happens it is not such a stress? Sheesh people! 

Anyways... then the grumpies came... Oh the grumpies. How does this happen? Why does this happen? I just dont get it.
I was laughing with a couple of my school friends when I was telling them I was grumpy. They must think I am crazy. (what normal person laughs when they are grumpy?)
I have to put a funny side to these kinds of situations to help me get through these days. Or else there is a good chance I would not make it. Truly! Stop being grumpy with a frown and laugh! It takes more muscles to frown then to smile. Its true. I have research to back it up :)

Home? Where are you? Is it Friday yet?
I want to be home in bed with my heating pad...

I am missing it sooo much right now. You know, a REAL bed (not a futon), my pillows that smell like home, a kitchen I can really cook in, most of all the most amazing man that caters to me when I am in pain. Oh how I want him to stroke my hair and tell me I'll be ok or just lie beside me until I fall asleep.

Alright, enough whining... I am going to drink my hot water with honey, eat my apple and start this editing process.

Monday, May 16

Monday back to school


Woo what a busy day! After a great long week off school, this morning I woke up super early to write a test at 8am! I got 82%, which I am proud of, just thought I did better... hum.. gotta check out what I missed. Bet it was because I was so nervous I was shaking and thought there was a huge chance I was going to throw up. Pfft. Excuses, excuses...

Anyways going to make food for the next week (chicken Alfredo) then organize my next 39 sleeps of school.

Bye all

Sunday, May 15

Back to Vanc


Well I am back to the real world. Found many treasures from our garage sailing. Only spent $5 and many useful free things. ie food dish for the pup, a holder for teddy bears for Naima, and 3D puzzles for Gav and I. Yesterday was all good news, Jeff sold his bike, Gav sold his truck, and I sold a helmet.
Today I did nothing.
It was amazing. 
Gav and I didn't even get outta bed till 10am!
We had egg sandwiches with bacon, cheese, banana and it was amazing. True story! :)
And the Canucks just won the first game of the series! Huzzah
Tomorrow is a big day!
I am writing my LA portion of my exam, kinda nervous but I know that I know this stuff inside and out now! Phew.
Going to review a few more things then head off to bed for an early night and an early morning tomorrow. Exam time is at 8am!
Ready? Set? Go!

Friday, May 13

Practicing for 'Mommyhood'


Thats what Gav calls it anyways... I am most definitely NOT the cook of the house but this week has really made me appreciate staying home and relaxing. Not saying thats what I want automatically when we have kids... well maybe... who knows?!
I made Manicotti last night for my man, sister and her husband. Not going to lie it was pretty scrump!

For dinner tonight I just finished making corn chowder with bacon bits and other yummy surprises. Believe me, this is a big step in my future! I am practically a housewife! lol Gav is coming home from work any minute and we are off for a bike ride (with the pup of course) to find a bike route for Gav so he can take it to work.

Goodness I love this island, our home and our life!

Wednesday, May 11

Wednesday

Its Wednesday now...
I have realized I don't think I can be a stay at home wife. I would probably go crazy being at home! Gav started going to the office for 9-5 work. I am terribly lonely here with no car (guess I coulda drove him and took the car...) I have studying to do anyways. Falito and I are just chillin' at home, I'm at 'my study table' and he has been sleeping all morning in front of the portable heater. Its icky rain out today too... good thing I have studying to do right?
Saturday Gav and I decided to hit some serious garage sales! ooo I love garage saling with him! We always find the best deals. The best way to get the most for your time is making a separate map then bookmarking all the addresses from usedeverywhere, kijiji, and craigs list then just go on to google maps on your phone and access the map.

Oh geeze we are like old people aren't we? haha oh well. I like it!

Driving home



Driving home in our new car following Gav

Naima


Tuesday, May 10

Spring

Holly cow
This has been such a good week already!
Remember I am on spring break? Well it all started Friday. We finished our last exam and a whole bunch of us from school went to The Old Spaghetti Factory for lunch. Mmmm it was scrump! (you know, like scrumpalicious). Anyways, I caught the 5pm ferry and was home for 7pm. Gav picked up Naima friday evening and we met at the house at 8pm. Naima was soo happy to be home, she loves coming here. We keep our very strict rules but have lots of fun! There is no getting away with whining (which has been happening the last couple visits)...



Saturday morning we woke up nice and early had a gourmet breakfast just the 3 of us and went for a family bike ride along a beautiful trail that is soo close to home. It was probably about 45 min long, maybe an hour. Gav had an attachment on his bike with Naima on it peddling more than she has ever before, and I was biking with Falito holding his leash as he darted along with us. Goodness that was a fun time. We came home for some lunch, where Gav had some work to finish off and Naima and I practiced reading and writing. For Christmas last year she got this tent thing that has a grocery store design. I ask her for grocery food, she sounds out the words and write them down on a paper then hands me the pretend food. I give her cash and she counts out the change for me. It is by far the best way we have worked out different ways for her to learn new things and have lots of fun at the same time. That evening Mike, Michelle, Gav Naima and I went to the carnival that was in town, only a 5 min drive from our home. It was soo fun! Our little Shnook wanted to go on all the big rides! I really learned a valuable lesson in raising children. If you are nervous for your little one she wont do it, if you have no apprehension these very smart children pick up on that and will do anything! I was definitely nervous about one ride for her and unfortunately she didn't go because of me.. but she did go on every other one that she was allowed on (even a couple that she was supposed to be too small for...) She played a fishing game too and won a little blue puppy, Gav played a baloon popping game and won her an adorable penguin!
That ends Saturday.

Sunday was just as good.
Naima begged us to go on another 'family bike ride,' so off we went around our neighborhood for about an hour. Naima and I made a "mom necklace' for Claudia and Gav and her picked out a beautiful card for mothers day, as we had to drop Naima off that evening. Then being mothers day and all, we headed to Victoria to spend the day with Gav's mom, Laureen. We did a little fishing off the dock then ate just caught trout. (I didn't have any, Yuck!) Gav dropped off Naima at her moms place and the two of us headed back to our home. It always sad dropping Naima off and coming back home. I know it breaks Gav's heart. He said "I thought after time it would get easier, but it sure doesn't..." I sure wish I could make this whole situation easier, somehow. Then, we went to bed.

Monday... I found out I didn't pass the LA portion of my exam so I have to retake the test the Monday back to school. That's ok. I really know my stuff I just feel I was rushed (leaving it to the end of the test and running out of time). I have learned another thing so its not a big deal. (now that I think about it, as I write this on a Tuesday). I am not going to lie, I was a little depressed about the whole thing so Gav and I decided to do some retail therapy and get a much needed car together. We looked, and looked, and looked. Saw sooo many cars none of them any good. Then, about an hour and a half away was our car. We talked her down to $2600 for a 2000 Mazda Protege. It is in absolute perfect working condition! We got such a steal! Just after we bought our car we headed to our friends place, watched the anticipated hockey game and won! woo go Canucks!

Now its Tuesday.
I had soooo many plans to do and projects to work on, but all I want to do is be lazy and study. So there, that is what I am doing! (I guess I did a little laundry and dishes, but that was simple!) Woo, Gav just got home. Going to clean the cars and put them up for sale.

BYE!

Thursday, May 5

Love

It is amazing how one person can love so much. Yes this is one of those corny blog posts. But goodness, I LOVE my Gavin. I cannot even believe how supportive he has been through all of this. You know, everything! I have been going to school since September 2007... thats 4 years. Only one more year left.
Plus I have been working almost full time on top of full time school. How can someone deal with an extremely busy woman? Just ask the man of the hour! We have been together for almost 5 years now, and I can probably count on my fingers and toes how many times I have made dinner for us. Yikes. (I do make lunches though, don't forget that Shmoops... breakfast too!)
It is 16 hours until my spring break starts for a whole 9 days! Oh my goodness I am looking forward to it!

My goals: (I can be quite the go-getter, especially because I know he doesn't read my blog)
  • I will make dinner every night (I know, said that before, but this time I'm actually going to try!)
  •  Clean the shed
  • Tidy Naima's room
  • Wash the carpets
  • Exercise every single day (bike ride, kayak, run)

That will be enough for the 9 days, especially if I will be cooking... Doesn't that take up an entire day? Maybe I can make it fun... anyone know how?

Wednesday, May 4

Noise

I don't get it.
It is just craziness here! There is banging coming from somewhere in the apartment building, a car alarm is going off, girls are loudly chatting next door.
How is it only loud when I want to concentrate and study?
Oh Silly world!