Wednesday, August 31

Traveling...

I LOVE to travel!!!! This experience is pushing it... We are at our fourth airport. Want to know how far we are trying to travel??? Its only a 23 hour drive from our home. It should have been a 2 hour flight...

It all started at 4am. Yes that's right. AM! We started our drive to Vic. at 5am with coffee in hand. Only 2 hours drive, not so bad considering we could drive it blind-folded. That brings us to 7am. We were told to check in 2 hours before as we brought our lil pup. Turns out we didn't need the 2 hours, only 40 min. So we ran around the  parking lot for an hour trying to tire him out. We gave him half a gravol for the trip (Vets recommendation). First flight went well. He was stressed for the take off and landing but everything in between he was fine for. We had a quick stop in Kelowna (stop 1, 45 min flight) then off to Edmonton (stop 2, 1 hour flight). Edmonton was ok. They had a huge parking lot to walk in (yes, dogs are shunned from the airport).

Every time we landed we took the pup out for a stretch and pee. Meaning we had to go through baggage check every time!!! Have you ever gone through that with a pup? Our little pup did NOT want to be in his crate every time we put him in there... You have to take your dog out of the crate, hold him and put everything else through at the same time. Then you need to put him in the crate before you leave the baggage check area (where there are too many people crammed in one area). OMG, it was absolutely laughable thing the FIRST TIME... We have done it now 5 times... Oh, wait, I skipped a section.

Where was I? Oh yes, We were in edmonton for ... yikes too many hours... Our flight was supposed to leave at 4:30pm but it was postponed for 3 and a half hours... then eventually cancelled... they found flights for everyone (ours is sucky, but at least they found us one... right? it was for 6:30pm to calgary... an extra flight... we left 40 min late. Now I am sitting at the calgary airport waiting for the 9:35pm flight to sask. We have finally eaten food (via gift voucher from westjet) I am just hoping at the end of this we have our luggage and a .... wait that is all I want.

My man and I laughed at how horrible this was after we passed some grumps that is...

Monday, August 29

Summer

Yesterday was just amazing! We spent the whole day at the lake! Me, my man, cookie, momma, sis, brother in law and both pups!  We snorkelled, swam all the way to the dock with the cookie. At first she was terrified, but wanted to go back and fourth from the beach to the dock over and over again. We probably went back and fourth 5 times!!!! It's amazing seeing her grow up into such a little person!

This past week I have been learning how to type... I mean I am starting from dead scratch... its kinda embarrassing... I am the  fastest chicken scratcher ever. I am averaging 18wpm... kinda slow... but I'll be up to 50wpm in no time, right?

Sunday, August 28

Sleep

It makes me laugh that our little cookie sleeps later than my latest sleep in. What a teenager!

Tuesday, August 23

Tomorrow is moving day!

I REALLY want to post pictures of my new place, but my new toy has nothing on it yet... I am still searching for my little USB device... Where could it be?!?!?

Monday, August 22

My new toy

My man bought me a new toy! Woo.
Weird as I lay in bed I wonder what was the first thing that came to your mind when you read "toy".
Was it a video game, sexy toy, camping gear, race car, remote control truck, something that I could bring with me when I'm gone? Hmm, reading this post from the beginning my first thought was remote control truck. Probably because there is one at the foot of my bed as I write this.... jealous? Every girl needs a remote truck!
Anyways, I digress... my new toy is a mac laptop. I know. Surprised? Jess, getting a mac computer, the woman of a Linux lover... stop it. I know. I will probably NEVER hear the end if it. Yes, I deserve it. You mac users are right. Although, just because I am saying mac IS amazing does NOT mean I am saying I don't like Linux any less. I am just sooo tired of having to do a hack job on my laptop to make things work or asking my man for help. Today is day one, and I love it!

Sunday, August 21

A little bit of everything

Tubing for the first time yesterday was pretty awesome. Not gunna lie. It took us 3 hours to get down the river. There were a few spots with rapids, bumped my bum on a couple rocks. But sooo worth it! I burnt too. First time this year. I don't get it... I have been outside all summer long all days and when sunscreen applied properly, there are no burns. Right? Wrong! I thought I applied properly. Maybe my sunscreen expired? Blast. Going to buy some new stuff today. Its 30 sport. So you can sweat, and go in the water. I've NEVER had any problems until yesterday. Ouch... My forearms, shins, between my boobs, and right under... Most uncomfortable. It was also extremely hot yesterday. Not that I am complaining. About 30 degrees? I guess its not THAT hot, but considering the 20-25 max that we have been having this summer it made a BIG difference!

This morning my man woke up at 4:30am to go fishing for coho... at least I think that is what he is fishing for... In the ocean, so at least I know it isn't bass...
-Mental note: Ask hubby what he is fishing for so when he catches it I know what I am eating.
I have been trying time after time to like fish (actually any seafood for that matter) I cannot believe I grew up on an island and do not like seafood. Well... a couple weeks ago I tried lobster and it was mmmm sooooooo goood! The true test however is fish... So here's to new things!

On another note. Only 2 more sleeps until I am moving my stuff into the new apartment. My man and I have decided he will be coming at least 1 x month to Vanc. So I don't have so much travel time. I am really excited for him to meet my roomates and do fun Vanc things!

I keep dreaming my room in the apartment is too small for my bed and desk. The desk is TINY so there really shouldn't be a problem... Hum. Only time will tell.

Friday, August 19

Pup

he never stays in his bed when he sleeps. Our cute lil pup pup

Garage sale and Tubing

Oh the excitement!
We are gearing up to have our very first Garage sale tomorrow! I think the last time I participated in one of these was at age 7... Um... just a few years ago...

My sister is mostly doing it, and my man and I are just throwing stuff in and helping out until about 10am when we are going to go tubing down a river. Never done this before! Well, I have played with a tube in a lake or the ocean, but this river takes 2 and a half hours to go down. Our friends invited us. The four of us are going to have a picnic before we go. Going to be soooo much fun!!!

Thursday, August 18

Moving day

I never thought I would say this but Moving Day is August 24th!!!!

This year I'm bringing ALL my clothes (just in case we have a professional day, now I have no excuse to not dress up :-) ) 
This week has been super stressful but VERY productive!:

Stressful part:
Real-estate agent called yesterday and said the owners wouldn't sign the papers- they wanted to increase the rent by $80 and for us to start renting on the 17th (yesterday). So she told us to start looking for other places just in case... This is when I started to freak out. After 2 weeks of convincing them that we would be perfect tenants... they decide they don't want us? Unbelievable. The real-estate agent assured me she would call me back the same evening to give me a yes or no. I waited and waited and waited... Finally a phone call back explaining the owners reasoning... They thought none of us have ever worked before and even though we are all mid to late twenties they thought we were living off student loans and our parents, therefore very irresponsible adults. Apparently in the Chinese culture it is uncommon to have adults go back to school after working. Once they have their career that's it they stick to it. Needless to say that was such a stressful 7 hours...

Productive part:
I have all my shots finished
Financial situation in order

Wednesday, August 17

Lil Pup Pup

Our little pup is soo funny!

EVERY single night he jumps in our bed and lays down as we are getting ready for bed. EVERY single night he goes limp while laying in our bed when we say its bed time for the pup, then we have to put his dead weight into his own bed. EVERY night he does not move after this.

He is such a stubborn and strange lil pup pup.

Tuesday, August 16

On the ferry

I'm on the ferry for the last time before moving day. Signing the papers then heading home. How exciting! Maybe we will get the keys today? Maybe not. But there is no one living there right now...

Monday, August 15

Apartment!!!!

We got the apartment! Huzzah! We will not be homeless any more!
To top it off its the BEAUTIFUL one!

Apartment Search

The search is getting worse and worse. Maybe students looking for a place to live or families that are looking for a convenient place close to schools. Who knows. The only thing I know is that we have only ONE place to look at tomorrow... at 10am... It sure looks amazing, but I hope they like us. On the other side. We are still trying to get the apartment that is BEAUTIFUL, but the landlords do not like that we are students. Dumb people. We do not have time to party! My roomy called the lady that is in charge and she is going to put in another good word for us. Hopefully she has better charm then I. I know for sure she has more experience. This should help! Maybe by this evening I will be writing up another blog post while jumping up and down saying "we got the place." But I must not let myself get too excited... Blast this is tricky!

Sunday, August 14

Our driveway

We have been meaning to finish our driveway since we bought our home... A year and a half later it's finished! Now our driveway is triple the size, which is not super appealing, however it is very accommodating for our tenants. It will not be so bad once we tar mac (is that what it's called?) it so its all the same. Next is to have the stone wall in the front giving us some privacy.

Saturday, August 13

Yup, just LOVE summer. We camped in the backyard last night. We packed games and books to play age read, also breakfast for the next morning! We had pancakes, bacon, eggs on our Coleman. It sure was scrump. Even coffee in our camping coffee maker! Right after breaky we blew up our pool and put in some water. Since this morning we have been snorkeling for coins and swimming. Its Sooo nice having the pool as our backyard get barely any wind... so hot.

Today is also the only day we could borrow a giant truck... so my man picked up the rocks for our front yard, and spreading them out so we will have extra parking. Just so happy!

Friday, August 12

Hopefully moving?

Finally, we all agreed on a place to rent. The papers have been sent and now we play the waiting game. I'm kinda nervous... I do not want another rejection. How could anyone reject us 3 VERY sweet girls? I asked her to let me know how long the process takes and when we will know if we got the place or not... as we will have to start our search all over again...
Yuck, even writing that sent me shivers down my spine...

Now I need to think about shinanigans... things that I will need when I move away... Last year, I didn't need anything. My aunt had everything for me. I just brought clothes.

What do people need to live? Humm...
Clothes
Desk
Bed
Couch?
Plates and Utensils
Coffee table (who needs a kitchen table?)
Hangers/Dresser... or I could live out of a suitcase... but that sounds awful...
Coffee maker
I guess that's everything. What else could 3 students need?

Side note: I sold Betty Anderson (my car) she treated me very well for 4 years. I remember swinging my body from front to back hoping it would give us some energy to climb hills. She was always there when our other cars died, and now I get to use the money from her to gravel our front yard.
She is a 3 cylinder, with absolutely no power behind her, but she plugged along day after day. Lol I feel like she is dead... she might just as well be... Upside to her being gone is one less car in the driveway now :) Woo hoo!

Good bye Betty!

Thursday, August 11

Up early

I'm up early again (i secretly love waking up early so I can get lots done in a day) and headed out to get cream before my man woke up, but I forgot no grocery stores are open till 8am... I could just go to a corner store... but it kills me to pay double the price... so I wait...

Hmmm, lots of ... in this post. Kinda love it! Lots of love too!

... ok, maybe I am not as awake as I thought I was...

Ooo its 8!

Wednesday, August 10

Rental trip and a whiny pup

Well, we went to the big city for the second time to check out apartments. Big fail! There were 3 that were just unbelievably gross! I wouldn't wish my worst enemy to live there. One the lady was pushy and mould growing up the wall, the second the guy didn't show up and his contractor showed us the place... it wasn't the upper floor as the ad said it was a basement suite and it was a hollowed out place with no toilet, fridge, anything! Well... there was a toilet, but it was cracked! The third had a the sickest smell we both wanted to barf, it had cracks everywhere and the man that wanted to rent to us was hitting on me! Gross.

Now for the "better ones." There were still stains in the carpets... but no sick smell and no cracks in toilets. lol The first one has 3 bathrooms (selling feature), the second is very open top floor of a house, and the 3rd was a apartment that was ABSOLUTELY beautiful! The biggest downfall of the apartment is that it has a non-negotiable 1 year lease... and our course has only 10 months left.

I do not want to look anymore. I just want to stay in one of the places and that is all. Its strange after buying a house I never thought I would have to look for a rental place... just goes to show you never know what's going to happen!

On a side note, my man is working at the office today and I am having a lazy day. My lil pup is being soooooo needy! I cannot even believe it! It's like having a baby, when the baby cries and you try everything (feeding, burping, changing dipers, giving attention) I am not exactly saying saying I change my pups diper, but I do have the door open for him to go to the washroom... I even brought his bed from the bedroom into the living room. Its been 3 hours... Silly lil pup pup.

Sunday, August 7

4 nights of blissful camping

I wish we could camp every day of the summer and be hobos the entire time! We spent 4 nights at Gordon Bay campground. They have the clearest lake I have ever been to! We did some snorkelling, swimming, lounging, hammocking, reading, kayaking, and the best part was (drum-roll please....) we did not eat a single hamburger or hotdog! We made some pasta, stir-fry, shish-kabobs (is that how you spell it?), breakfast sandwiches (for breaky), and cucumber sandwiches for lunch! We just got home and unpacked and feel great! No bogged down feeling from eating unhealthy :) From now on that is what our camping is always going to be like! I took some pics and will upload them a little later.

When the 2 of us go camping, its the most relaxing thing in the entire world! We chat about EVERYTHING and laugh until our stomachs are sore.

Until then, I'm off for a run.

Tuesday, August 2

Little Brag

Finally holidays for my man has come (well, kinda). We are going camping tomorrow! The kinda part is because he has to work still... but who cares!!! Camping!

Monday, August 1

This is the life

My man and I went to bed at 2am last night, so of course we woke up around 10am this morning. We snuggled in bed for over 2 hours this morning (which doesn't happen very often as we are busy bees). It was just lovely!

Nothing happened today. Exciting blog post isn't it?!?!
Well, not nothing. There can NEVER be nothing! I purchased something that is WAY too expensive, but probably the coolest most awesomest thing EVER! Want to know what it is? I purchased my very own laptop lunch kit. I am sooo excited for it to arrive I cannot wait! I feel like I have been waiting for DAYS, WEEKS.... although... I bought it online yesterday... I suppose I need to work on my patience... blast.

I made a Natural Power Bar this evening. Just waiting for it to harden so we can try it out. I used to get them from Urban Beet (a coffee shop just around the corner from our place) but they are $4 for each one... gets pretty expensive if you get that and a coffee. I cannot wait to try them out. If its amazing, I will be taking the recipe to Vanc. and using it for school. YUM.

We biked to the grocery store with the pup (REALLY need to do it more often) Its such a nice ride, plus we are exercising! It's about a 20 min bike ride there and back.

The rest of my day has consisted of reading (Dear John), its an ok book, so far kinda romantic and watching movies.

Our next vacation is coming up soon :)
We are going (just the 2 of us and the pup) camping from Wednesday through till Sunday. My man still has to work so we bought a generator to clip up to his laptop and we can charge our cell phones and such. A little cheating on our camping trip this time. I have MANY books to read as we sit by the fire! So excited! We are bringing our bikes and kayaks too! Going to be soo fun! There are showers and flush toilets too :) Goodness I am excited! Only 2 more sleeps!