Thursday, December 29

Happy days!

Just let me tell you about my amazing holidays.
The last couple days my man has been working (when doesn't he work now?) but only mornings thank goodness. Anyways, we have been working together (but on separate projects) on the couch. I have been studying (yes, on holidays) to get CE Credits for dental assisting.... It's interesting stuff at least. Review about oral cancers, abused medications and such.

It's 9:30pm and we have a full turkey meal. Yum.
I am now (again) an earring wearer. I picked up some super cute, but practical earrings for myself that I can just leave in :) Oh and I re-pierced my friend J's ear last night too. Now lots of people in our home have pierced ears! (my man picked some out too that are bad ass, black hoops with a black ball, oh and my brother in law downstairs has an earring too)

Today is Friday. That means back to school soon... I don't even want to think about it. I have been able to snuggle my man every morning until we feel like getting up... soooo nice!!



I already have our weekend planned out!
Friday we are going to play kids Pictionary on the ipad that hooks up to the TV
Saturday we are going to the swimming pool then the park which is right beside it (maybe the pup park too). Then our NEW YEARS PARTY! We have invited all our friends who are bringing food and games and champaign.
Sunday we are going to sleep in, then skating (little cookie is skating on her own, and when she uses a hockey stick she FLYS down the rink)

I betcha your wondering if I am setting a new years resolution?!?! Well let me give to the answer. Ready? Are you sure? The answer is NO. I am such a fail at resolutions then I'm upset after I cannot meet it. So this year, I am just going to focus on getting through school and finding a job at the end of it all. 175 sleeps left. Yes that is all. Oh and pay off my growing student loan...

Sunday, December 25

Christmas

What a wonderful Christmas time this was. It all started yesterday at 9:30pm. We just got back into our little city from a 2 hour drive and stopped at the mailbox to see if Santa had written little cookie back. Sure enough, he did. And she was ECSTATIC! We got home and immediately she opened it and my Shmoops read it out loud for us all to hear. I was very impressed with the response she got the letter had her name handwritten and the rest was typed except Santa's name was stamped. Thank you Canada Post. You have made Christmas just a little more special for thousands of children this holiday year. We baked cookies, and had chicken bouillon that my momma had ready for us when we got home. Next was a letter for Santa along with milk, cookies, and of course a carrot for the reindeer.

The little cookie open the present from my Shmoops and I (a tradition) and of course it was new pajama's with her favorite figure (right now) Penguins. We didn't get to bed until about 1am... We put the cookie to bed at 11:30pm, and she didn't fall asleep until around 12:30 (she was sooo excited to wake up for Santa Claus to come). Then of course we had to put the presents out very quietly. It was sooo fun!

Morning came... MUCH TO FAST! 5am my man had to get up to start the turkey... We decided to have everyone over for lunch as the lil cookie had to leave for 4pm. Anyways, he plopped into the oven and came back to bed. Of course now that I was up with him for 5am I couldn't fall back asleep until about 8am... We were woken up from a VERY excited little girl at 8:30am. Everyone was up. My momma and little sister slept on cookie's bottom bunk bed together and so of course they were up, and my other sister lives downstairs and so they heard when a little girl was running about full of joy. We made some coffee, and started opening presents. I hand them out to Cookie and she reads the name and hands them to the presentee. We all got a surprisingly good load. I got exactly what I asked for and was 100% surprised! My man got me the cutest slippers in the entire world!

As well as 2 large photo frames (I have been asking for some for a while yet, as we have no family photos around the house). Minus the GIANT family photo books...

My momma and man made an amazing bacon, eggs, and toast breakfast that we gobbled up.
Next was prepping for lunch... well, actually cooking it I suppose.
Lunch was soooo amazing! We had turkey, buns, gravy, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, veggies, cheese sauce, and sooo much pumpkin pie. There were 18 of us all together, 4 kids running around the house. Little cookie was in her glory playing with her cousins.

Then it all ended. 4pm came and the house was empty. Just my man and I.
We went for a evening walk, and have been watching movies in our pajamas pretty much the rest of the time (after a crazy cleanup I mean).

Tomorrow is boxing day! We received money for xmas so tomorrow we are just picking up a few things... I am starting a snow globe collection, so that will be on the list, then slippers for my other temp home, and maybe a itunes gift card that gives me savings (buy an itunes card for $39 for a $50 gift card. Its a beautiful thing, gift cards I mean...

Ok, time to stop writing, this has been much too long! G'night.

Friday, December 23

As time goes on

Phew, feeling sooo much better! I pulled out one of my stitches yesterday (it was sooooo irritating!) And today another one started to become irritating, no I haven't pulled it out yet... Soon I think.

Today, this evening is friends Christmas dinner. There are 9 of us that are partaking in this charade. We are all bringing food and presents. (Next year we are doing secret Santa for sure... it gets WAY too expensive buying presents for everyone...) Especially when you are living off a student loan... Anyways...

Yesterday we spent putting our Christmas present to ourselves together.... It pretty much took all day. SO worth it!

Wednesday, December 21

Sore face

omg, my face hurts...
I woke up this morning with GIANT cheeks! They were sooo swollen and sooo painful that I got out of bed quietly to not wake my man. Ate cold apple sauce then took a ibuprofen. An hour later a T3. I layed on the couch, turned on the TV and slept for another 3 hours. Sooo much pain... Day 3 sucks the big one. I want to slash through the next few days, maybe just sleep through them or something?

Now watching TV, laying on the couch, knitting something for my friend that I promised 2 years ago, and apparently blogging.

Tuesday, December 20

Holidays start

What has happened in the last couple days??

Friday: I came home early. We went for noodle box then a walk with the little pup around Thestis lake. Then it was time to head over to pick up the little cookie. On our way home we drove through Ladysmith to see all the beautiful lights. I just LOVE that place, the whole town comes together and decorates every square inch of the town. We got home, read a story and went to sleep.


Saturday: We ate WAY too many pancakes and bacon and eggs, then the cold ones for a afternoon snack. Then off to see Santa! Little cookie was sooo excited to see him, once she started talking to him she wouldn't stop. She was asking for sooo many things. (I started seeing a huge gash in our budget) Then shortly after we left Santa I made sure to let her know that Santa will for sure bring her only one present that she asks for. The main present she asked for was very specific... A blue penguin with big eyes and a Christmas hat. She must have seen it somewhere... anyways, we found this adorable penguin with blue features. No Christmas hat though... I bought a red Santa hat that is supposed to be for dogs and sewed it onto the adorable penguin. We ate some scrump lunch in the mall food court and bought a few pieces of clothing and presents for our lovely friends. Later that evening we walked around our neighborhood just 2 min from our home there is an adorable community that I want to move into. Its tricky though...  We have 3 more years on our mortgage until we can sell and its quite pricy when moving into a community... But would be sooo worth it especially when we have children. They can play hockey with the neighbour kids in the front yard. Where we live right now is pretty amazing too. Its on a little bit of a busier street but the size and layout of our house is PERFECT for us. Plus we have a good size backyard, and a playground across the street with a basketball and tennis court. Hmm, maybe we will live her forever. WHO KNOWS?! We ended the day with a couple story books. Was a pretty perfect day.



Sunday: The morning started off soo lazy. I LOVE Sundays!!! It was a bacon, eggs and cheese scone day. YUM. Next, we went skating. We have gone almost every weekend. Its getting to be soooooo fun with little cookie. She is getting soo good! She can skate on her own now. Her favorite saying when she is having a rough time is "It's OK Jessica, we're Vickery's, and Vickery's NEVER give up" After skating I finished up our Christmas shopping with my friend C while my man and the little cookie played snakes and ladders. (such a good game)



Monday: I woke up a little nervous... It was wisdom teeth extractions day. 10:45am was the start time. My man drove me, picked up my prescription medications and waited for me to be finished. It was the best extraction I could have ever imagined. They were soooo informative by explaining everything then gave me IV sedation. The doctor told me I was going to feel like I drank a couple glasses of wine then just fall asleep. I was staring at the ceiling thinking "I don't feel anything yet" That was the last thing I remember.

Tuesday: That brings us to today. I'm swollen, and taking T3's. Watching movies and lots of sex in the city. My shmoops has made me breaky, lunch, and brought me all my medications when its time and change my ice pack. He is just soo amazing! LOVE him to bits! Now we are both sitting on the couch on our laptops, he's working and I'm blogging.


Happy Holidays, 5 sleeps until Christmas

Friday, December 16

Lesson learned

Not happy...

Lessons about online purchases...

I have been practicing buying things off ebay lately, and so far I suck at it. I used to buy lots of new children's clothing and did such a great job... but now... my luck is no more.

I purchased watch holders for my ipod nano and they weren't the ones I wanted...
Then I thought it was going so well and I purchased my mans Christmas present from there, and another fail... The purchase is exactly what was in the description, but not at all what I imagined... I HATE EBAY currently...

I dunno what I'm going to do... Do I buy something else for him? Do I try and find the item I was looking for? I know its about $70 in stores and we have a $40 limit... Plus I already purchased my limit... and can't send it back as this particular person does not give refunds...

Blast.

Tuesday, December 13

My day

My day: woke up, breakfast, chatted with Lucy (is that her blog name?), studied, packed a few things, studied, blogged, studied, ate a snack for lunch, studied, watched a tv episode, studied, napped, studied, made a salad for dinner and that brings us to now... Blogging again...

Real love

Me: will you change my gross gauze when I get my wisdom teeth out if I cannot??
Shmoops: darn tootin' rights I will!

Now that is love

Procrastination again...

The procrastination queen is at it again!

Today I have off to study for the next 3 exams in 3 days. Yes, that's right, 3 exams in 3 days. No break for the wicked. lol So what am I doing? Planning for our Christmas lunch we are having with the family.... Fail...

We are having 18 people!!! 13 adults and 5 kids! Going to be a little bit crazy...

I wish sooo bad that we had the whole house at times like this. Then we could set up the media room downstairs for the kidlets and have the fire going upstairs.  Oh well, once I am done school and WORKING we can have luxuries like that. Working is the key term :)

On another note, I have taken work for granted. It is sooo much easier to work then go to school! First of all I dont take work home with me and second I do not have to pay to go to work. That will be another exciting thing on my check off list. Paying off my student loan... Is it ever going to end? 

Only 3 sleeps left until I get to go home for 2 and a half weeks!!!

Big plans for the weekend with my little family
1. Bake goodies and treats for family and friends
2. Skating
3. Drive around and look at the Christmas lights
4. Not turning the TV on once
5. Take extras that aren't being used to the Salvation army
6. Pick up the last of the Christmas presents
7. Write a letter to Santa Claus
8. Finish making Christmas decorations

Hmm, I think that's it. Monday I am getting my wisdom teeth out so I'll be out of commission for a couple days... They are putting me under general... Sick.  I just called. They are putting me under IV sedation!!! Yaayayayayaya!! General anesthesia is severely contraindicated! So I was worried... I am going in with a Doctor that I have never met before... But that's ok too. Apparently he is really nice.

Phew, HUGE weight lifted off!!!!

Saturday, December 10

Bed time at 7pm?

Its 7pm and I'm ready for bed on a Saturday night. Haha

What an old person... Or a student... lets go with the latter. :-)

Studying went pretty well today... studied for 30 min then took a 30 min break throughout the whole day lol What a slack day.
Tomorrow can only be the same or slightly better?! Yes, that's just it, better.


Home

Only 6 sleeps until I get to snuggle my man for the holidays and 195 sleeps until home day forever. Christmas is probably one of my favorite holidays as all my family gets together. And this year it's both our families coming together for a whole day. And I'm making dinner for everyone :-)

Tuesday, December 6

Painting and Toys

What an experience we had this weekend.
I am dieing to paint little bears bedroom, and she just so happened to ask for a pink bedroom with pink blankets and sheets, and a pink stuffed animal with big eyes. So whats the plan? A new bedroom!!! Well that and the girl from tangled. Anyways, we did something this year that was actually effective! Little bear and I went into the bedroom, closed the door (mostly because our rommie's son was there and the little pup pup kept going into the room. I digress, we spent about an hour in there going through her toys and decided "what toys were still good that are not being played with anymore and should go to children that do not have any toys." She was sooo responsive after I chose a couple toys. She decided to give away about half the toys that were flooding her room. We packaged them up into shoe boxes and dropped them off at the salvation army. (not for them to re-sale but to give to families that need things). I am just soooo proud of her! And now we can see her closet floor :) We also hung stuffed animals in a cute net from the ceiling to remove get some things off the floor. Only 10 sleeps until painting day!

Sunday, December 4

The notebook

I just watched the notebook for the 2nd time. It just finished. My eyes are now red, my face puffy, and my pillow soaked. I sure love a good love story.

My man asked me why I love watching movies that make me cry? My response felt obvious. I watch them because I love seeing love in action. It's why I wake up in the mornings, for love and passion.

Speaking of love. I had such an amazing time with my family chopping down a Christmas tree. We brought it home in top of our little car and decorated the tree then the whole house! Everything looks amazing!!! Only 2 weeks until Christmas holidays. 12 sleeps and counting.

Sunday, November 27

Family

I am so lucky to have these two amazing people in my life. Had to share this picture

Anniversary

I was just looking at a few of my blog posts from the past and I realized I have been blogging for over a year!! Happy anniversary to me and my blog :-)

Finally!

Best day ever!
I have been alone all morning, which has been kinda nice... I finished my paper! :) Just one more read through, maybe tomorrow. That was my last stress before exams. Now just 3 exams left. Phew. Maybe some relax time is in order, then some studying, then sleep. That is all I envision for my day.

Saturday, November 26

Weekend here

Girls night last night. It has been such a long time since I have last had a girls night. Lately (last 2 months) I have been sooo stressed out and because I now live with 2 roomates I am tired of spending time with people (not that I don't love my roomies) but when I am home I just want to lay in bed and snuggle with my man. Anyways... I stayed here this weekend to write a paper and start studying. But Friday night was fun night! We went out for dinner at Joeys. Appys were sooo good, burger was disgustingly salty... but they took it off the bill and really apologized. Which made it soo much better. Then off to the movies. We saw breaking dawn. Good movie, a lot cheesy, but I am in so much love with the characters it made it that much better!

omg funniest trip ever!!!
My roomy and her friend and I went out grocery shopping to Costco. Remember we dont have a vehicle here... So skytrain most of the way, then walking the rest of the way. That was fine minus the rain... While we were shopping, I think we got a little carried away... We left with a GIANT size toilet paper, each of us had a very heavy bag and a old lady shopping cart. Did I mention it was raining? So we each also had an umbrella... What a sight to see... We barely made it home...
I miss my car

Should have taken a pic!
Wish I could explain the fullness of the funny times.

All day I have been trying to write this stupid expository essay... stupid.
I am only at 660 words and still need about 500... its just sooo boring, its too painful to write...

Tuesday, November 22

Wasting time...

I have officially wasted 3 hours at school...
My last 3 hours:
12:30-1:20 lunch with music (no work)
1:20-1:30 Man brought my table clinic boards to the school and I gave him my cc #
1:30-2:00 Read my cue cards once... what I did the rest of the 25 min? Not sure.
2:00 Called man to see how much he was charging my cc
2:00-3:00 Napped in a class as I was depressed how much the stupid f-ing board costs
3:00-3:24 (now) blogging and labeling photos on my computer and waiting until 4 so I can go pee and grab the pic that we are putting on the TC board.

Stupid f-ing projects.
This has been the last 3 weeks of HELL. I have been having nightmares about school projects and twilight (lame). Mornings start at 5:30am and I go to bed around 10pm from exhaustion. I have been at school this whole week starting at 6:40am and leaving around 7pm... Why? Stupid projects...

24 sleeps until Christmas holidays

Ok, on to positives. As we must ALWAYS have these...
I got my giant bag back from S... was in her locker for 2 weeks...
Want to know what this bag consists of? Dental products!!!! Huzzah. If your wondering what your getting for Christmas... Just wait, it will be dental related, and no, not because you have smelly breath (which you might) but because I am a poor starving student that just spent about $80 on a project... and there are 4 people in our group...
Next good thing: I passed my LA task... The lamens term is giving a needle in a specific place. I did amazingly.
The only things that are left in this semester is 1 final essay and 1 big presentation (tomorrow) and 1 day (4 hours) where I stand with our table clinic (big board with info on it) and discuss our research with professionals in the dental field all over Vancouver.

Omg seeing it written down on paper looks soo good!

Oh no. Its only 3:34... I still have until 4:15 before our group meeting... I wonder what else I can find to do to procrastinate..?

Monday, November 21

Amazing post today (sarcasm)

Very important blog post today.


Only 214 sleeps until graduation day, and many less until christmas holidays! next up? I taped up pictures of my family on my wall in Vanc. And it makes me happy! When I go home in a couple weeks ill be printing off a couple other pics... I miss the lil pup pup too! It would be soo fun to have half my wall covered with people I love. Its a great reminder about all my support I have at home.

Love you all

Sunday, November 20

First snow

Yesterday was our first snow and we had lil cookie! We made a snowman and went sledding. Was sooo much fun! Had to take a break in between... We need new winter boots and real gloves for her again.

Saturday, November 19

New adult teeth + no spaces = Orthodontics

OMG. Baby girls permanent lower anteriors are coming in and there are NO SPACES. Also, she is placing her lower teeth in front of her upper teeth, not all the time, but habits form quickly...  And she has been doing this for as long as I've known her.
This is what I mean by the lower teeth in front of the upper teeth.

This can create problems in the future with chewing and jaw problems.
That means $8,000 worth of braces are coming down the tube... I mean only if there is severe crowding as it is difficult to clean (meaning more cavities in the long run) Get ready.... I think a quick discussion is going to need to happen. The earlier she gets into the ortho office the less money it will be in the long run.

 
This is where extended health care comes in handy. Unfortunately, the chances of me ever having a health care plan besides the regular msp plan is VERY slim in my area. My man will prob never have it either as he is doing his own thing. Thankfully, as I will be a Dental Hygienist (in only 7 more months) I will be able to clean my family members teeth for free! Also when working for a dentist, family members receive reduced filling cost (when needed), however with my educational expertise and persistence, my fam should not be getting fillings...
Dental costs seems to be the biggest burden for families, $150 worth of cleaning 2 times a year for each member. Yikes. For the 3 of us that is a grand total of $900. Just wait till the next couple angels come along... For this, I feel extremely fortunate!
Braces however, is another thing on its own. I don't work in an orthodontics office so no help there. Just saving up I suppose???
 
Dental Tip:  People, do not rinse out your mouth after you brush your teeth as well as eat or drink for 30 min. It rids the fluoride uptake that occurs in that amount of time. I know it tastes weird, but think about the greater good of your mouth (and not to mention fresher breath)!!!

Friday, November 18

Laptop lunch kit 2.0

I need a large salad container In place of the 2 bigger ones. Looks scrump!!